NFL MVP Winners list: 1957 to 2021

NFL MVP Winners list: The National Football League Most Valuable Player (MVP) is an award given by various media outlets to the most valuable player in the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC), as selected by a panel of sportswriters. The winner receives the Vince Lombardi Trophy, which is named after former Green Bay Packers head coach Vince Lombardi. The media-generated award has been presented by the NFL since 1957, and Tom Brady has been the most recent recipient of the honor.

In the past, the award was presented by news organizations such as United Press International (UPI) and the now-defunct New York Daily Mirror. Between 1998 and 2009, the award was presented by the NFL Network. In 2010, it was again presented by various media outlets. The 2012 and 2013 award winners were announced on January 9, 2014, and J. J. Watt became the first defensive player to win the award in back-to-back years.

The Associated Press (AP), PFWA, and SN have been the most consistent in their MVP voting, with all three awarding the honor to the same player in 17 of the past 19 years (2001-2019). The AP has presented the award 46 times, while the PFWA has done so 21 times. The SN has honored 28 different players with the MVP award. Brady has been the only player to receive the honor from all three organizations.

Read Also: NFL 2022 Broadcasters (Live Streaming, TV Channels, Radio)

The NFL’s MVP award has been criticized in the past for primarily honoring offensive players, as well as Quarterbacks in particular. In recent years, however, there has been a trend towards voting for more versatile and complete players, such as Watt and Aaron Rodgers. There are no set criteria for what constitutes an “MVP-worthy” season, and the award is often given to the best player on the league’s best team. This has led to some debates over who is more deserving of the honor in a given year.

NFL MVP winners from 1957 to 2021.

1957 – Jim Brown, Cleveland Browns

1958 – Jim Brown, Cleveland Browns

1959 – Johnny Unitas, Baltimore Colts

1960 – Norm Van Brocklin, Philadelphia Eagles

1961 – Paul Hornung, Green Bay Packers

1962 – Jim Taylor, Green Bay Packers

1963 – Y. A. Tittle, New York Giants

1964 – Johnny Unitas, Baltimore Colts

1965 – Jim Brown, Cleveland Browns

1966 – Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

1967 – Johnny Unitas, Baltimore Colts

1968 – Earl Morrall, Baltimore Colts

1969 – Roman Gabriel, Los Angeles Rams

1970 – John Brodie, San Francisco 49ers

1971 – Alan Page, Minnesota Vikings

1972 – Larry Brown, Washington Redskins

1973 – O. J. Simpson, Buffalo Bills

1974 – Ken Stabler, Oakland Raiders

1975 – Fran Tarkenton, Minnesota Vikings

1976 – Bert Jones, Baltimore Colts

1977 – Walter Payton, Chicago Bears

1978 – Terry Bradshaw, Pittsburgh Steelers

1979 – Earl Campbell, Houston Oilers

1980 – Brian Sipe, Cleveland Browns

1981 – Ken Anderson, Cincinnati Bengals

1982 – Mark Moseley, Washington Redskins

1983 – Joe Theismann, Washington Redskins

1984 – Dan Marino, Miami Dolphins

1985 – Marcus Allen, Los Angeles Raiders

1986 – Lawrence Taylor, New York Giants

1987 – John Elway, Denver Broncos

1988 – Boomer Esiason, Cincinnati Bengals

1989 – Joe Montana, San Francisco 49ers

1990 – Joe Montana, San Francisco 49ers

1991 – Thurman Thomas, Buffalo Bills

1992 – Steve Young, San Francisco 49ers

1993 – Emmitt Smith, Dallas Cowboys

1994 – Steve Young, San Francisco 49ers

1995 – Brett Favre, Green Bay Packers

1996 – Brett Favre, Green Bay Packers

1997 – Barry Sanders, Detroit Lions

1997 – Brett Favre, Green Bay Packers

1998 – Terrell Davis, Denver Broncos

1999 – Kurt Warner, St. Louis Rams

2000 – Marshall Faulk, St. Louis Rams

2001 – Kurt Warner, St. Louis Rams

2002 – Rich Gannon, Oakland Raiders

2003 – Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2003 – Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans

2004 – Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2005 – Shaun Alexander, Seattle Seahawks

2006 – LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego Chargers

2007 – Tom Brady, New England Patriots

2008 – Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2009 – Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2010 – Tom Brady, New England Patriots

2011 – Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

2012 – Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings

2013 – Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos

201 4– Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

201 5– Cam Newton, Carolina Panthers

2016 – Matt Ryan, Atlanta Falcons

2017 – Tom Brady, New England Patriots

2018 – Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

2019 – Lamar Jackson, Baltimore Ravens

2020 – Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

2021 – Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

Leave a Comment